Coincidence?

Posted on Updated on

The TiImage (1)tanic collided with an iceberg on April 14, 1912. It sank in the early hours on the fifteenth.

Abraham Lincoln was shot in the head at point blank on April 14, 1865. He “crossed over to the other side” on the fifteenth.

My soft, sweet smelling, chubby self graced the world on April 14, 1973. On April 15, . . . I was still here.

Some people would see all three events as catastrophic. Some people, being my older brother during my elementary years or even the last girl my husband dated before he married me. But I choose to see those as the epic historical moments that millions are still talking about to this day.

Now I am well aware that people all around world are not talking about me, much less, thinking about me. But I have two personal beliefs. One I stole from brainyquote.com, and the other belief is just from personal observation.

1) Well behaved women seldom make history.

Think about it. It’s true.Molly Brown. Margaret Thatcher. Rupaul. Scratch the last one. Horrible example.

2) Ornery people live longer.

I can’t scientifically prove it, but I believe it to my core. I think it’s safe to say we ALL know an old crotchety person that should’ve expired way before they soured. Right, dad? I kid. But I am convinced that God keeps the socially stunted alive for His amusement. I know I like to watch a good “throw down”!

Also, who else is He going to use to teach you peace, patience, forgiveness and love without people like me?

You can thank me later.

It wasn’t till tonight that I correlated all three events. It was quite the epiphany! Now I must spend the next several days factoring in how I will epically change the course of history. You can be sure it won’t be dreadful like a sinking ship or an assassination. I’m a strong swimmer and the only Texan terrified of guns.  I am neither homicidal or suicidal, but I am determined. And these two events that happened on the same day (different years) as my birth are a stark reminder that tomorrows are  never promised to anyone, so I will leave it all on the field each and every day and die falling forward. Life is about taking ground, not about making plans.

I’ll leave you with this thought:

Some days I’m the iceberg. Some days, I’m the Titanic. And then somedays I am the all powerful EL NIÑO! But that’s really just my PMS talking.

Leave a comment